Wrota Podkarpackie
Gate to the Podkarpackie  >  About Region  >  Administrative division

Wrota Podkarpackie

Information has been make available: 01.10.2007 09:47

The Podkarpackie province encompasses 21 land districts (powiat ziemski) and 4 city districts (powiat grodzki). Altogether, there are 159 communes (gmina): 16 municipal communes, 29 – municipal–rural communes and 114 rural ones. 45 localities have city rights. Of all the others, 47 had city rights in the past, but lost them due to economical or historical problems. There are buildings and market squares preserved, serving as the central points of the cities.
The largest districts in the Podkarpackie are Rzeszów – land district (166 thousand), Mielec (136 thousand), Dębica (134 thousand), Jasielsk (125 thousand), Jarosław (124 thousand) and Stalowa Wola (116 thousand).
The most significant city in southeastern Poland is the Podkarpackie capital – Rzeszów – economical, scientific and cultural center of the province. Some other large cities in the Podkarpackie are: Przemyśl, Stalowa Wola, Mielec, Tarnobrzeg, Krosno, Dębica, Jarosław, Sanok and Jasło.

Placed by: Włodzimierz Stec
Contact   •    Map of the portal   •    What are The Gates of Podkarpackie ?

Copyright © 2006 Marshal's Office of the Podkarpackie Voivodeship
Customisation by COMARCH